Author Topic: Need screen capture program for making videos to post on youtube for this site.  (Read 4744 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Can someone reccommend a screen capture program so that i can produce videos on youtube for this site. 

For example i want to show how to use the RT Systems programming software for the FT-60R radio.  So i need a program that will capture all of the menus and mouse clicks( the whole screen) and convert that to video so that i can run that in a video production program program and add vioce overs and other video and titles.

I have seen programs for over $200 but i am looking for something functional and free. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

idial1911

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
  • Karma: 67
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class and VE
The more I learn, the less I know.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Idial
Thx, but

I have Avid Media Composer.  Not looking for video editing software, but software to capture my screen movements like filing a video of the screen as you move around a piece of software. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

bryanthegoon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
  • Karma: 11
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class and VE
At work we use a product called Camtasia by Tech Smith.  It is easy to use and seems to work well ( we create demo videos of our software products that are used at conventions and what not)

It is not free but they do have a 30 day trial

Recon prepper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 6
  • Gender: Male
quicktime will do the whole screen or just sections of the screen you highlight and its easy to use. It does not record sound however. When your done it saves it as a .mov file.
General Class, ARES, RACES, CERT

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
quicktime will do the whole screen or just sections of the screen you highlight and its easy to use. It does not record sound however. When your done it saves it as a .mov file.

RP

Is that the Pro version?
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

idial1911

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1164
  • Karma: 67
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class and VE
When we going to see some youtube action for you.. Youtube might not be ready to release you into the wild, but we are!
The more I learn, the less I know.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
When we going to see some youtube action for you.. Youtube might not be ready to release you into the wild, but we are!

As soon as i get a good screen capture program that dosent break the bank and i can reshoot the FT-60 r programing segment. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

Recon prepper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 6
  • Gender: Male
it doesnt say pro anywhere on it when i click about quicktime it says Quicktime player version 10.2 not sure if thats any help to you or not.
General Class, ARES, RACES, CERT

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
RP

Are you running Mac or Windows.  The software i am using for the radio programming is windows based. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

Recon prepper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: 6
  • Gender: Male
mac not sure if windows version does the same or not
General Class, ARES, RACES, CERT

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Well i am testing Sangit http://www.techsmith.com/tutorial-snagit-11-whats-new.html

Did a trial run and it look like it might work. 

Stay tuned for the Www.k5ehx.net > FT-60R via RT Systems software video on our Youtube channel ........
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1965
  • Karma: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

XJP5

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Operator
Update.  I did get they version of SnagIt and it works great. 

I've used this software for years and would recommend it highly!