Author Topic: Trunk repeater?  (Read 7095 times)

jsr5

Trunk repeater?
« on: October 28, 2012, 12:08:13 AM »
Back when I was a cop the troopers (I wasn't a trooper) had a item called a trunk repeater in their cars that allowed them to be away from their cars on a HT but still contact bases and dispatches at a better power level than the HT's limited 5 watts. Anyone have any familiarity with those anysuggestions on good ones. Are there any that have a frequency range similar to the baofeng 5rb ht's would they be better than having a stand alone Mobile unit? just not sure what they can do. is it just a fixed one freq in one freq out sor t of thing or can you program them to work more than one freq in and maybe even more than one out. Any that would work with stuff in the FRS or GMRS range as I have some of those worked into my close in communications system because of cost and they were what I started my system with way back when. Part of the reson I decided to go with dual band HT's as my next step up is because those can be networked with the FRS/GMRS loved that bit of flexibility and that it added to my current stuff rather than started over from scratch. NOt to mention if things are bad long term there are alot of those lil frs/gmrs units out there that can be talked to or received from.

TIA

BTPost

• Old Fart Ham
  • Prepper
    • Bruce's Trading Post
Re: Trunk repeater?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 01:44:43 AM »