Author Topic: Passed my General and Extra today  (Read 7460 times)

bryanthegoon

• Extra Class and VE
Passed my General and Extra today
« on: May 05, 2012, 03:04:56 PM »
Hi everyone, new guy here with my first post.  I had gotten my NoCode Tech like 21 years ago (when I was 10) and had passed the 5 wpm to give me a Tech Plus when  I was 12.  Hadn't really done anything on the air in like the past 15 years thou. 

A ham related post a couple weeks ago by AD on a (completely unrelated to ham) different forum had gotten me going with wanting to get into it again (especially now that there wasn't a code requirement to move ahead, I had only passed the 5 wpm by the skin of my teeth).  So last weekend I started studying for my General on http://www.hamradiolicenseexam.com , that came back to me so quickly I decided to study for my extra as well and kill 2 birds with one stone.  Well after a week on that site I am ranked #12. 

Took the tests this morning and passed both with flying colors.  Sorry for the long post, figured since this was my first post would do a little introduction as well.  Now to get a radio or two, at the moment I only have a Yaesu FT-208R 2M HT (I think the thing was made in 1983), and hopefully get on the air again.

Anyway enough with tooting my own horn for now

-Bryan

AD

• Administrator
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Re: Passed my General and Extra today
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2012, 03:26:17 PM »
My turn to toot for ya, congrats.  I am glad i got you interested again.  Now time for a 2x1 or a 1x2 if you can find one and get lucky. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

Firemedic4b

• New Site Member
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2012, 03:56:47 PM »
Congrats on your accomplishment. 

bryanthegoon

• Extra Class and VE
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 04:01:20 PM »