Author Topic: Hallicrafters SX-100 rebuild?  (Read 11846 times)

WolfSpring

• New Site Member
Hallicrafters SX-100 rebuild?
« on: March 03, 2012, 08:53:49 PM »
I know this site is geared toward preparedness being a ham, but I figured some of you might be able to help me.  I bought an old (1950s ish) Hallicrafters SX-100.  I downloaded the manual so I have a reference for a lot of the stuff.  I may be in over my head here but any guidance is greatly appreciated, my daughter who is 8, pulled the puppy dog eyes on me in a parts shop and this thing was 150 bucks I did a search and they go for up to 500 restored, I'm not in it for the money but I'm in it for the joy of learning and bonding with my kid.

Anyway, I know enough about electronics not to get zapped.  I'm a satellite communications operator for the military and know how to work a multimeter, solder and use E-tape.  I found that I have 127 VAC going to the transformer and haven't tried ohming out the power switch or getting the voltage off the other end of the transformer yet.  It does not power on at all no noise or anything.  Has anyone worked with something similar before?  I don't have a good schematic yet I'm just going to follow wires the best I know and do a little each day.  I went on Eham and QRZ and no offense to those sites but they are very poorly run and some of the old guys there have a chip on there shoulder.  That and on Eham I can't post or anything and I've been registered for a year now.

idial1911

• Administrator
  • Extra Class and VE
Re: Hallicrafters SX-100 rebuild?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 10:06:58 PM »