Author Topic: Hello from Rochester, NY  (Read 4894 times)

bkt

• New Site Member
Hello from Rochester, NY
« on: November 29, 2015, 06:25:57 AM »
Hey folks. I'm a libertarian-leaning, gun-owning prepper who got his tech ticket a couple years ago. I develop software for a living and enjoy listening on HF with my SDR - decoding data or just listening to conversations. I own a few Baofeng UV-5R radios...set a couple up as my own repeater just as an experiment to see if it would work. Mostly, I enjoy talking with some locals. Just picked up a TNC to play with APRS but haven't had the time to put everything together yet.

I'm looking forward to learning a lot here. This looks like a pretty awesome forum.

AD

• Administrator
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Re: Hello from Rochester, NY
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2015, 06:39:05 AM »
Welcome to PH.  Any plans to go for the General soon?  Long range 2way comms is a great tool for anyone preparing for the future.   
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

bkt

• New Site Member
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2015, 07:14:47 AM »
Absolutely - I'm working on studying for my General. Finding time to study is a challenge but I hope to take the test this winter.

Thanks!

DragoSapien

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2015, 12:40:12 PM »
Welcome to PH. This is a great site for friends and info.

Tevin

• Prepper
  • Rhymes with heaven.
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2015, 04:55:10 PM »
Hey folks. I'm a libertarian-leaning, gun-owning prepper who got his tech ticket a couple years ago. I develop software for a living and enjoy listening on HF with my SDR - decoding data or just listening to conversations. I own a few Baofeng UV-5R radios...set a couple up as my own repeater just as an experiment to see if it would work. Mostly, I enjoy talking with some locals. Just picked up a TNC to play with APRS but haven't had the time to put everything together yet.