Author Topic: SLANT E! as of 03/01/2012  (Read 5329 times)

SigInt

• Amateur Extra
  • Ground Control 121
    • Can you find me now?
SLANT E! as of 03/01/2012
« on: March 01, 2012, 11:04:13 PM »
Ok guys and gals, I have been quiet for the last couple of weeks because my work had me out of town on a big job and then when I got back I started studying again for my Extra.

I bought the ARRL Extra study guide about a month ago and then I also did the QRZ repetitive test thing. Eventually I read about the HTO site in one of the threads here. I had checked it out much earlier but I was not impressed at the time BECAUSE I WAS TREATING IT LIKE THE QRZ test site and just kept taking the test.

You can not do that. You must go in to the study mode to get a grasp on the material.

I feel that if you sign up and do what they tell you you can pass the test. To date, I have not found a better resource than HamTestOnline as AD had suggested. I was amazed as to how much it was like having a teacher looking over my shoulder, answering the questions I was thinking of, right before my eyes.

I am one of the lucky ones as I have a lot of experience in radio so I did not need to spend many days studying on that site. So then tonight, as a challenge to myself, I decided to go for it even though HTO said they had taught me only 40% of the material and I had mastered only 65% of that.  I figured that because I bought and read much of the ARRL Extra study book for a couple of weeks as well as took the QRZ Extra test about 5 times to the point of eventually passing it, I might have a chance.  Without HTO I felt I was not absorbing the material and understanding some of the questions to the point of even attempting to give a correct answer. But that was until tonight, because...

I passed!

So...

Get on the stick and get off the pot because I know you can do it if you want to.

I really wanted this so I could get it over with and just learn by doing from now on.