Author Topic: Lets talk digital!! Questions inside.  (Read 5014 times)

digitalebola

• Russian Iron
Lets talk digital!! Questions inside.
« on: February 11, 2012, 05:06:38 PM »
I will start out by saying that above and beyond what was on the tech and general exam I know nothing of digital as it relates to amateur radio.

I am no newbie to computer networks - been doing LAN/WAN stuff since the early 90's and MODEM communication since the early 80's

So given that there are no stupid questions - only ignorant people - here I go.

So is the purpose of doing digital on the hams to interface computers together? Is it just another method of interconnecting systems/networks?

I have a radio that is capable of digital. What do I  need to complete the connection?

What type of data can be transmitted? Is it text (like tty data)? Is it capable of transmitting files?

Is the communication point to point? My radio/computer to yours? Or is it available to all?  If it is point to point how is it secured? PKI?

Is there bridging allowed that would allow your computer to connect to another across the air and bridge to the Internet?

Is communication facilitated through special software like the old terminal programs back in the day?

YES! I could research all these questions on my own - but I am guessing there are other newbs who have some of the same questions.

Thanks!!!!!

MG

• New Site Member
Re: Lets talk digital!! Questions inside.
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 08:07:19 PM »
I will attempt to address your questions:

"I have a radio that is capable of digital. What do I  need to complete the connection?"